Complete Works of Malatesta, Vol. V The Armed Strike: The Long London Exile of 1900–13

Errico Malatesta (Author); Davide Turcato (Editor); Andrea Asali (Translator); Carl Levy (Introduction)


Publisher: AK Press
Format: Book
Binding: pb
Pages: 428
Released: December 12, 2023
ISBN-13: 9781849351492

The original Anarchy in the U.K.

This volume focuses on the crucial years in Errico Malatesta’s life when he was exiled in London. Responding to what he saw as the unrealistic insurrectionism and isolation into which anarchism had fallen, Malatesta advocated “a long and patient work to prepare and organize the people,” through which anarchism would operate in broad daylight to entrench itself in the workers’ movement.

Among the concerns Malatesta addresses in this volume are the assassinations of King Humbert of Italy and President McKinley in the US. The emerging radical labor movement that was taking off in England, France, and Spain at the time, and his own imprisonment in England.


"To an extent difficult to imagine today, the years covered by this latest addition to the monumental publication of works by and about Malatesta were a period of agitation, challenge to doctrine and authority, even hopes for overthrow of the repressive capitalist order, particularly in Italy and England, where Malatesta was a leading figure throughout. This volume is a contribution greatly to be welcomed for the understanding of a major figure of the modern world, and the turbulent period of his impressive contributions." —Noam Chomsky


Errico Malatesta (1853–1932) is a principal figure of Italian and international anarchism. His sixty-year militancy, much of it spent in exile or in prison, spanned the foundation of the anarchist movement in 1872 to the eve of the Spanish Revolution. He has written “bestsellers” of anarchist literature, such as Between Peasants, Anarchy, and At the Café. However, his evolving anarchism—pragmatic, theoretically coherent, and as relevant today as it was a century ago—is best illustrated by the myriad of articles scattered in the anarchist press and collected for the first time in these Complete Works.

Davide Turcato is a historian of Italian anarchism and the author of Making Sense of Anarchism.

Andrea Asali is a writer and translator. Her first book is I Belong Only to Myself: The Life and Writings of Leda Rafanelli

Carl Levy is a Professor of Politics at Goldsmiths College, University of London. He is the author of Gramsci and the Anarchists and coauthor of The Anarchist Imagination.

AK press

Join the Friends of AK Press and
automatically receive every new book
we publish!

Join Today