I Have Lived Four Lives

Wilfred Buck (Author)


Publisher: ARP Books
Format: Book
Binding: pb
Pages: 139
Released: October 26, 2021
ISBN-13: 9781927886496

“Herein is the story of how I lived and how I died and how I lived again along with the dreams I have dreamed and the visions I have seen.” — Wilfred Buck

In I Have Lived Four Lives, Ininew Dream Keeper Wilfred Buck ignites story after vivid story of his extraordinary personal path to becoming an expert in Indigenous cosmology and astronomy, revealing in these uncensored experiences a whole reality shifted through an intimate understanding of the Ininew night sky.

“This book is an engaging and authentic challenge to predictable narratives about the Canadian experience. In crisp, raw prose, Buck takes us on his life’s journeys through a landscape of pain, anger, discovery, humour, healing, and beauty. With great humility, Buck acknowledges the people, dreams, and places (urban and natural) that shaped his path and gave him purpose, with a special place for the stars above, an integral part of his community, scientific outlook, and world view. I Have Lived Four Lives is a fascinating portrait of one of Canada’s leading science educators, someone who has drawn on the deep reserves of knowledge from his ancestors–Canada’s first scientists” —David Pantalony, Curator of Physical Sciences and Medicine, Ingenium–Canada’s Museums of Science and Innovation

“Wilfred’s story is the story of Indigenous Canada. I was riveted from the first page. His writing reminded me of Jack Kerouac or the Beat poets. What drew me to him was the star knowledge. What I was captivated by was this kind of Hunter S. Thompson wild ride he had.” — Lisa Jackson, filmmaker

AK press

Join the Friends of AK Press and
automatically receive every new book
we publish!

Join Today