A Country of Ghosts e-book

Margaret Killjoy (Author)

Special Price $7.50 was $14.99
Format
Special Price $7.50 was $14.99

Publisher: AK Press
Format: Book
Binding: e-book
Released: November 23, 2021
ISBN-13: 9781849354493

“An epic political fantasy in the tradition of Tepper and Le Guin—there is no writer working today quite like Margaret Killjoy. A brave, unapologetic, and fiercely original book.” —Laurie Penny, author of Everything Belongs to the Future

“This gritty, evocative novel explores the question of what an anarchist community can do to resist the assaults that are sure to come if any such social formation were to exist.” —Kim Stanley Robinson, author of the Mars trilogy

“A Country of Ghosts is entertaining, its politics intriguing, and the setting is a place I found myself missing after I turned the last page.” —Nick Mamatas, author of I am Providence and Bullettime

Dimos Horacki is a Borolian journalist and a cynical patriot, his muckraking days behind him. But when his newspaper ships him to the front, he’s embedded in the Imperial Army and the reality of colonial expansion is laid bare before him. His adventures take him from villages and homesteads to the great refugee city of Hronople, built of glass, steel, and stone, all while a war rages around him. The empire fights for coal and iron, but the anarchists of Hron fight for their way of life. A Country of Ghosts is a novel of utopia besieged that challenges every premise of contemporary society.

This is the second title in the Black Dawn series of speculative fiction from AK Press.

Margaret Killjoy is the transfeminine author of The Lamb Will Slaughter the Lion and The Barrow Will Send What It May.

AK press

Join the Friends of AK Press and
automatically receive every new book
we publish!

Join Today

GET EMAIL UPDATES

FOLLOW US