Without a Glimmer of Remorse

Pino Cacucci (Author); Flavio Costantini (Illustrator)


Publisher: Black Powder Press
Format: Book
Binding: pb
Pages: 308
Released: February 18, 2016
ISBN-13: 9780692358214

An explosive dramatized fiction of the life and times of Jules Bonnot, his gang (La bande à Bonnot), his associates, and the individualist anarchists of the time, including the young Victor Serge. An affectionate, fast-paced, but historically accurate account of the life of the extraordinary Bonnot—worker, soldier, auto-mechanic, driver to Sir Arthur Conan Doyle—a man with a long cherished dream of absolute freedom, and the first bank-robber to use a getaway car; an anarchist who felt it his duty to lash out at bourgeois society, staking his all. A tragically romantic hero, Jules Bonnot emerges from these pages as a wounded dreamer who was to deeply affect the lives of so many other unforgettable characters. Includes historical photographs, newspaper clippings, and police mugshots. Beautifully illustrated by Flavio Costantini.

This new second edition of Without A Glimmer Of Remorse has been revised and edited to fix the typographical and layout issues in the first edition.

About the author: Pino Cacucci (b.1955) is an Italian writer who has published: Outland Rock (Transeuropa 1987, winner of the MystFest award), Puerto Escondido (published first by Interno Giallo in 1990 and later by Monadori) turned into the movie of the same name by Gabriele Salvatores, a life of Tina Modotti, Tina (Interno Giallo 1991), San Isidro Futból (Granata Press 1991, republished by Feltrinelli in 1996), the basis for Alessandro Cappelletti's movie Viva San Isidro featuring Diego Abatantuono, Forfora (Granata Press 1993) — later expanded to Forfora e altre sventurate (Feltrinelli 1997), In ogni caso nessun rimorso (Longanesi 1994 and Feltrinelli 2001), La polvere del Messico (Mondadori 1992 and Feltrinelli 1996), Camminando. Incontri di un viandante (Feltrinelli 1996, winner of the Terra-Città di Palermo prize), Demasiado Corazón (Feltrinelli 1999, winner of the Giorgio Scerbanenco Noir award at the Courmayeur Festival), Punti di fuga (Mondadori 1992 and Feltrinelli 2000), Ribelli! (Feltrinelli 2001, winner of the Fiesole Special Jury Narrative Award), Gracias Mexico (Feltrinelli 2001), Mastruzzi indaga (Feltrinelli 2002) and Oltretorrente (Feltrinelli 2003). He has also edited Latinoamericana (1993) by Ernesto Ché Guevara and Albert Granado on behalf of Feltrinelli, as well as Io, Marcos. Il nuovo Zapata racconta (1995).

About the illustrator: Flavio Costantini (1926–2013) was an Italian artist. Costantini created portraits of writers and artists for newspapers, and illustrated several novels. He created series of paintings exploring historical themes: Anarchy, the wreck of the Titanic, alchemy and Mozart, the French Revolution and its victims, Yekaterinburg and the murder of Nicholas II and his family. His works have appeared in galleries across the world, he has been prominently featured in dozens international art magazines, and has published several books, including Art of Anarchy (1979 Cienfuegos Press).

AK press

Join the Friends of AK Press and
automatically receive every new book
we publish!

Join Today