They Never Crushed His Spirit A Tribute to Richard Williams

(Interfaith Prisoners of Conscience Project, Editor); (Ray Luc Levasseur, Contributor), (Sundiata Acoli, Contributor); (Laura Whitehorn, Contributor); (Marilyn Buck, Contributor); (Mumia Abu-Jamal, Contributor); (Lynne Stewart, Introduction); (Russell Mar


Publisher: Kersplebedeb
Format: Book
Binding: pb
Pages: 143
Released: January 10, 2006
ISBN-13: 9781894946223

Richard Williams was a lifelong anti-imperialist and socialist, one of the Ohio 7 convicted in 1984 of having carried out armed actions against racism and imperialism as a member of the United Freedom Front. His targets included South African Airways offices, US Army and Navy reserve offices, Union Carbide offices for their manufacture of cluster bombs used against revolutionaries in Central America, General Electric -- as the fourth largest military supplier, particularly against El Salvador -- and IBM for building the computers that enforced the South African pass system. After over twenty years of captivity and medical neglect, Richard passed away on December 7th 2005, at the age of 58.

This book includes an introduction by Lynne Stewart, and contributions by Netdahe Williams Stoddard, Jaan Laaman, Tom Manning, Ray Luc Levasseur, Jamila Levi, Pat Levasseur, Kazi Toure, Mumia Abu-Jamal, Marilyn Buck, Nehanda Abiodun, Sundiata Acoli, Mutulu Shakur, Russell "Maroon" Shoats, Carlos Alberto Torres, Oscar López Rivera, Laura Whitehorn, Susan Rosenberg, Adolfo Matos Antongiorgi, and many other friends, family members and comrades of Richard Williams.

From the editorial note: "The book is a tool, both to educate and to offend our sense of humanity. Let us take our outrage and use it to insure that not one more political prisoner dies in prison."
Published by Kersplebedeb and Interfaith Prisoners of Conscience Project
AK press

Join the Friends of AK Press and
automatically receive every new book
we publish!

Join Today