City of Refugees The Story of Three Newcomers Who Breathed Life into a Dying American Town

Susan Hartman (Author)

Special Price $20.96 was $27.95

Publisher: Beacon Press
Format: Book
Binding: hb
Pages: 256
Released: June 7, 2022
ISBN-13: 9780807024676

For readers of Caste, this intimate portrait of newcomers revitalizing a fading industrial town illuminates the larger canvas of refugee life in twenty-first century America.

Many Americans imagine refugees as threatening outsiders who will steal jobs or be a drain on the economy. But across the country, refugees are rebuilding and maintaining the American Dream. In City of Refugees, journalist Susan Hartman shows how an influx of refugees helped revive Utica, New York, an old upstate manufacturing town that was nearly destroyed by depopulation and arson.

Hartman follows three of these newcomers over the course of eight years as they and their families adjust to new lives in America. There’s Sadia, a bright, spirited Somali Bantu teenager who rebels against her formidable mother; Ali, an Iraqi translator who creates a home with a divorced American woman but is still traumatized by war; and Mersiha, a hard-working and ebullient Bosnian who dreams of opening a café.

AK press

Join the Friends of AK Press and
automatically receive every new book
we publish!

Join Today

GET EMAIL UPDATES

FOLLOW US